The 5 Love Languages

The 5 Love Languages

By: Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell


I just learned of this book from some homeschool teachers. It’s a good book to use as discussion starters. I encourage you to buy the book and join in the discussion.

Each of us is different in how we experience love. As parents we are responsible to help our children to know that they are loved. We also need to figure out what each of our children need in order to feel loved. They must know that they are loved no matter what. We may not like their actions, but we still love them. Our unconditional love won’t spoil them. Giving of things rather than love and time is what can spoil a child. Keep in mind the age of the children, the way we show love may change as they get older.

They are facing so many more hurdles than we did. The social media can have a very negative affect on our children.

The 5 Love Languages are:

  • Physical touch
  • Words of affirmation
  • Quality time
  • Gifts
  • Acts of service

In the past we worried about self-esteem. A lot of parents went too far and praised the kids for everything. Giving awards for just being at the game, or activity. They lost the learning they should have from accepting that they can’t always win in life. The kids have a false sense of always being the best and that others should always praise them. They can also go in the opposite direction by thinking that they can’t do anything right and have bad self-esteem. Being a parent trying to walk the balance beam of helping our children become strong caring adults is very difficult. Learning the 5 Love Languages can be a big help in learning how to best reach out to our children. Remember to look at the stage your child is in and make adjustments in how you show the different love languages.

Have you read this book? If so how has it helped you? If not do you think this will help you understand you children better?

6 replies
  1. Michelle Adserias
    Michelle Adserias says:

    My husband and I went through this book a while ago and have applied it to our marriage. Never really considered what love languages our children have. I think I’ll give that some consideration. Thanks!

  2. Jann
    Jann says:

    Thank you Michelle. There are books in this series for all different walks of life. I’m looking forward to learning more about this along with you. Please let me know your comments as we walk this journey together.

  3. Carole Sparks
    Carole Sparks says:

    We used this book a few years ago for our more-or-less annual family retreat. We looked at Scripture related to each “language” and brainstormed ways to show that language to others. My kids still talk about the 5 languages both in reference to themselves and to others. This is a really, really helpful book for showing love and for communicating about love in families.

  4. Jann
    Jann says:

    That’s awesome Carole. Would you like to share some of the ways the kids found to share the % Love Languages with others? I’m glad it’s was a great experience for your family. It sounds like it has made a lasting memory.

  5. Jann
    Jann says:

    Sorry it took awhile to get back to you. I had company. I’m glad you liked the book? do you have any others you would recommend?

Comments are closed.